Skip to Content

Student Assessment Legislation


On this page...

S.F. 240 was signed into law on May 11, 2017 directing the Department to issue a request for proposal (RFP) for the selection of a statewide assessment of student progress in reading, writing, mathematics and science to be administered beginning in the 2018-19 school year.

Federally Mandated Requirements

Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) legislation requires that states annually assess all students on achievement of grade-level, state adopted standards in reading, mathematics and science. To meet the requirements of the legislation, Iowa school districts and buildings must report assessment results for all students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and one grade in high school. In science, student results are reported in one grade each for elementary, middle and high school. No more than 1% of students with significant cognitive disabilities must also be assessed in reading, mathematics, and science using an alternate assessment. Students identified as English language learners (ELL) are additionally assessed in grades K-12 on achievement of state-adopted English language proficiency standards. 

State Mandated Requirements

S.F. 240 requires that all students enrolled in school districts in grades 3-11 be administered an assessment aligned to Iowa's required academic standards in reading, writing, and mathematics during the last quarter of the school year. Also, all students enrolled in school districts in grades 5, 8 and 10 be administered an assessment in science aligned to Iowa's required science standards during the last quarter of the school year.

281--Iowa Administrative Code 12.8(1)(f) Assessment of Student Progress requires districts to use multiple measures to assess all students in reading, mathematics and science.

Rule Interpretation:

  • District-wide means all attendance centers within a school district or accredited nonpublic school.
  • District-wide assessment means large-scale achievement or performance measures.
  • Students with disabilities participate in district wide assessment as indicated on the IEP.
  • Students with significant cognitive disabilities (1%) participate in the Dynamic Learning Maps if indicated on their IEP.
  • The district-wide assessment plan must assess student progress on all content standards in reading, mathematics, and science.
  • The choice of which assessments to use are a local decision.
  • School districts are providing evidence for the technical adequacy of district-wide assessments.
  • Multiple assessment measures, for reporting to the local community or state, means more than one valid and reliable instrument that quantifies district-wide student learning, including specific grade level data.
  • The multiple measure/s can be given at any grade level. This is a local decision.
  • At a minimum, a school district or accredited nonpublic school must have at least one additional assessment in reading, mathematics, and science.

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on May 21, 2018 at 7:30am.