Skip to Content

Statewide Assessment Requirements

On this page...

A variety of summative assessments (assessments OF learning) are used in the state of Iowa to meet federally and state mandated assessment requirements. These assessments are used to determine whether student subgroups, public schools, and Local Education Agencies (LEAs) make adequate yearly progress (AYP). Iowa Code subsection 256.7(21)(c) requires school districts, as accredited in Iowa, to annually report the progress of student achievement in their Annual Progress Report (APR).

Federally Mandated Requirements

No Child Left Behind (NCLB) legislation requires that all states assess all students in reading, mathematics and science. To meet the requirements of the legislation, Iowa school districts and buildings must report assessment results for all students in reading and mathematics in grades 3 through 8 and in grade 11. In science, student results are reported in grades 5, 8 and 11. Students identified as English language learners (ELL) are additionally assessed using the English Language Development Assessment (ELDA). Students with significant cognitive disabilities are assessed using the Dynamic Learning Maps as an alternative to the Iowa Department of Education Assessments.

In Iowa, all public schools and LEAs are held to the same process and criteria for making adequate yearly progress toward 100% proficiency. For purposes of AYP accountability, all public schools and LEAs are judged by performance and improvement on the Iowa Assessments. These measures are the common comparable measures across all school districts, thus, ensuring fairness, validity, and reliability when making unbiased, rational, and consistent determinations of the annual progress of LEAs and schools within the state. All schools and districts are expected to make improvement in student achievement.

State Mandated Requirements

Iowa Code subsection 256.7(21)(b) was signed by Governor Terry Branstad on June 3, 2013.

Additional State Mandated Requirements

281--Iowa Administrative Code 12.8(1)(f) Assessment of student progress.

Rule Interpretation:

  • District-wide means all attendance centers within a school district or accredited nonpublic school.
  • District-wide assessment means large-scale achievement or performance measures.
  • Students with disabilities participate in district wide assessment as indicated on the IEP.
  • Students with significant cognitive disabilities (1%) participate in the Dynamic Learning Maps if indicated on their IEP.
  • The district-wide assessment plan must assess student progress on all content standards in reading, mathematics, and science.
  • The choice of which assessments to use are a local decision.
  • School districts are providing evidence for the technical adequacy of district-wide assessments through the Iowa Technical Adequacy Project (ITAP).

Note for only public school districts: NCLB requires that all students be tested if they are enrolled in school on the day of testing. Testing windows for the Iowa Assessments are established by Iowa school districts in accordance with Iowa Testing Program guidelines. The testing windows are three weeks in the autumn, three weeks in the winter, and three weeks in the spring. (Beginning in the 2016-2017 school year, the only testing window will be in the spring.) It is expected that a school building and the district can report results for all district enrolled and open-enrolled students.

281--Iowa Administrative Code 12.8(1)(f)(1) Assessment of student progress. State indicators.

Rule Interpretation:

  • Multiple assessment measures, for reporting to the local community or state, means more than one valid and reliable instrument that quantifies district-wide student learning, including specific grade level data.
  • The multiple measure/s can be given at any grade level. This is a local decision.
  • At a minimum, a school district or accredited nonpublic school must have at least one additional assessment in reading, mathematics, and science.

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on April 30, 2017 at 3:42pm.