Skip to Content


The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990, a major civil rights law prohibiting discrimination on the basis of disability, establishes design requirements for the construction or alteration of facilities. It covers facilities in the private sector (places of public accommodation and commercial facilities) and the public sector (state and local government facilities). Under the ADA, the U.S. Access Board, an independent Federal agency, is responsible for accessibility guidelines covering newly built and altered facilities. In 1991, the Board published the ADA Accessibility Guidelines (ADAAG) which serve as the basis for standards used to enforce the law.

United States Access Board

ADA Standards Homepage

New ADA Accessibility Guidelines Side-by-Side Comparison

2010 ADA Standards for Accessible Design

ADA Regulations and Technical Assistance Materials

National Institute on Disability and Rehabilitation Research (NIDRR)

A Guide to the New ADA-ABA Accessibility Guidelines

Uniform Federal Accessibility Standards (UFAS)

International Code Council

USDE Office for Civil Rights

Great Plains ADA Center

A Guide to ADAAG Provisions


Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on April 16, 2014 at 11:25pm.