Skip to Content

Intel® Teach Program

On this page...

Intel® Teach was brought into the state to provide professional development for school/districts that have implemented one-to-one laptop initiatives to transform teaching and learning. However, Intel® Teach courses are available to help all districts create environments that promote deep thinking and problem solving skills.

In 2010 Iowa became the 14th state to become an Intel® Teach Affiliate. The Department of Education was awarded an Intel® Teach grant to help build statewide professional development capacity in partnership with the Area Education Agencies (AEA). Together they are preparing both face-to-face and online Intel® Teach professional development courses. Currently, over thirty AEA consultants have been trained as Master Instructors to deliver Intel® Teach courses to Iowa educators.

 

Course Information

Intel® Teach courses provide professional development to help K–12 teachers of all subjects learn how to integrate technology effectively for 21st century teaching and learning, promoting problem-solving, higher order thinking, and collaboration skills. The emphasis is on quality instruction and assessment, which includes the use of technology when appropriate. Intel® Teach professional development opportunities include face-to face courses and facilitated Elements online courses.

Face-to-Face Courses
Thinking with Technology (TWT) has been aligned with the Iowa Core and is available as an AEA catalog or site-based course.

  • Teaching with Technology: Tools 1 & 2 (Visual Ranking and Seeing Reason) currently available
  • Teaching with Technology: Tool 3 (Showing Evidence) available summer 2011

Participants work independently or in collaborative teams to design project-based units that embed 3 free Intel online tools: Visual Ranking, Seeing Reason, and Showing Evidence.

While the language of TWT and the Iowa Core is not exactly the same, the intent is. Both focus on "what" and "how" teachers are teaching and assessing (Content—Instruction—Assessment) students. Both emphasize student-centered classrooms and higher order thinking. The difference is that the Thinking with Technology course includes a "technology" component.

10 Easy Links to the Iowa Core was researched and written to help participating teachers and Master Instructors make connections between Intel Teaching with Technology and the Iowa Core. Each link includes talking points, learning tasks, and facilitator notes. Additional Iowa Core resources are available on the Iowa Online Professional Development System’s Moodle server. A webcast will be available to show how to access the Moodle resources.

Facilitated Online Elements Courses
Intel Elements is a series of online courses designed to help teachers deliver project-based learning that includes the integration of technology. The Online Council embedded the Iowa Core within each Elements course to help Iowa educators make connections and trained a cadre of AEA Master Instructors to facilitate these online courses. Facilitated Elements online courses complement the Teaching with Technology face-to-face courses.

The Elements courses have been approved by Iowa Core Network leaders and will be offered statewide through the AEA PD Online system.

  • Project-Based Approaches
    A course to help teachers improve their understanding and application of project-based approaches in the 21st century classroom.
  • Assessment in 21st Century Classrooms
    A course to help teachers improve assessment of 21st century skills.
  • Collaboration in the Digital Classroom
    A course to help teachers prepare students to collaborate in the digital, global world.
  • Educational Leadership for the 21st Century
    A course to help school principals and district administrators support teacher effectiveness for student achievement through technology integration.
  • Thinking Critically with Data
    A course for teachers to support students as they collect, interpret, and display data in a rapidly-changing and busy world of information access.

 

AEA Intel® Teach Contacts

Districts interested in participating in the Intel® Teach Online Elements or Thinking with Technology professional development should contact their AEA to learn more about Intel® Teach catalog and site-based courses.

AEA 267: (319) 273-8200
Jerry Schnabel, jschnabel@aea267.k12.ia.us

Grant Wood AEA: (319) 399-6700
Lisa Fry, lfry@aea10.k12.ia.us
Andy Crozier, acrozier@aea10.k12.ia.us

Great Prairie AEA: (319) 753-6561
Sally Lindgren, sally.lindgren@gpaea.k12.ia.us

Green Hills AEA: (712) 366-0503
Deanna Etherington, detherington@ghaea.org

Heartland AEA: (515) 270-9030
Susan Schrader, sschrader@aea11.k12.ia.us

Keystone AEA: (563) 245-1480
Rhonda Sheeley, rsheeley@aea1.k12.ia.us

Mississippi Bend AEA: (563) 359-1371
Robert Reppert, rreppert@aea9.k12.ia.us

Northwest AEA: (712) 222-6000
Jon Wibbels, jwibbels@nwaea.k12.ia.us

Prairie Lakes AEA: (712) 335-3588
Diane Jackson, djackson@aea8.k12.ia.us

 

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on April 16, 2014 at 9:58pm.