Skip to Content

U.S. Senate Youth Program

Contact(s)

On this page...

Iowa's Delegates to the 2014 U.S. Senate Youth Program Announced

Two outstanding students have been selected to represent Iowa at the 52nd U.S. Senate Youth Program in Washington, D.C. March 8-15, 2014. The program is merit-based and highly competitive.

The two delegates are Pablo Haake, a junior from Davenport Central High School and Edgar Thornton, a senior at Iowa City High School. Iowa’s two delegates spent a week in Washington, D.C. and received a $5,000 college scholarship.

Congratulations to Pablo and Edgar!

About the Program

The state of Iowa has accepted an invitation to participate in the U.S. Senate Youth Program (USSYP), sponsored by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The program is designed to give young Americans a working knowledge of American political life.

Each year two Iowa students have the opportunity to spend a week in Washington, D.C. The William Randolph Hearst Foundation pays all expenses. In addition, the two Iowa high school representatives each receive a $5,000 scholarship.

Selection of the two Iowa high school representatives is based on the outstanding ability and demonstrated leadership qualities of elected junior and senior high school officers.

Each high school may nominate up to three students. Completed applications should be submitted to the appropriate AEA USSYP contact below. Check the the timeline within the Application Materials section below for specific due dates. Nominees take a qualifying examination (specific dates determined by each AEA) on the U.S. Constitution and government. The award recipients are announced in December.

For general program information, visit the www.ussenateyouth.org.

 

 

AEA USSYP Contacts

Keystone AEA 1 -  Alicia Helle ahelle@aea1.k12.ia.us
AEA 267 - Barb Schroeder bschroeder@aea267.k12.ia.us
Prairie Lakes AEA 8 - Linda Linn llinn@aea8.k12.ia.us
Mississippi Bend AEA 9 - Denise Tatoian, dtatoian@aea9.k12.ia.us
Grant Wood AEA 10 - Susie Green sgreen@aea10.k12.ia.us
Heartland AEA 11 - Linda Hoobin lhoobin@heartlandaea.org 
Northwest AEA - Shari Collins scollins@nwaea.org
Green Hills - Connie Richardson crichardson@ghaea.org
Great Prairie AEA - Shannon Johnson shannon.johnson@gpaea.org

 

AEA USSYP Exam Dates

Keystone AEA 1 -  To Be Determined
AEA 267 - To Be Determined
Prairie Lakes AEA 8 - To Be Determined
Mississippi Bend AEA 9 - To Be Determined
Grant Wood AEA 10 - To Be Determined
Heartland AEA 11 - Wednesday, October 15, 2014
Northwest AEA - Thursday, October 23, 2014
Green Hills - Wednesday, October 22, 2014
Great Prairie AEA - To Be Determined

 

USSYP Application Materials

2015 USSYP Brochure

USSYP Student Application

USSYP Information and Timeline

USSYP Program Information Press Release

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on May 30, 2015 at 5:20am.