Skip to Content

U.S. Senate Youth Program

On this page...

Iowa's Delegates to the 2012 U.S. Senate Youth Program Announced

Two outstanding students have been selected to represent Iowa at the 51st U.S. Senate Youth Program in Washington, D.C. March 9-16, 2013. The program is merit-based and highly competitive.

The two delegates are Syed Umar Farooq, a senior from Gilbert High School and Cormac Broeg, a senior at Williamsburg High School. Iowa’s two delegates will spend a week in Washington, D.C., meet with high ranking government officials and receive a $5,000 college scholarship.

Two alternates were also selected. They are Jacob Ihnen, a senior from Sheldon High School, and Raymond Boyd, a junior from Missouri Valley High School.

Congratulations to Syed, Cormac, Jacob, and Raymond!

The state of Iowa has accepted an invitation to participate in the U.S. Senate Youth Program (USSYP), sponsored by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The program is designed to give young Americans a working knowledge of American political life.

Each year two Iowa students have the opportunity to spend a week in Washington, D.C. The William Randolph Hearst Foundation pays all expenses. In addition, the two Iowa high school representatives each receive a $5,000 scholarship.

Selection of the two Iowa high school representatives is based on the outstanding ability and demonstrated leadership qualities of elected junior and senior high school student officers for the 2012-13 school year.

Each high school may nominate up to three students. Student application materials are available below. The completed applications are submitted to each AEA USSYP contact by 4 p.m. October 5, 2012. Nominees take a qualifying examination (specific dates determined by each AEA) on the U.S. Constitution and government. The award recipients are announced in December.

For general program information, visit the www.ussenateyouth.org.

 

AEA USSYP Contacts

AEA 1 - Marc Snavely - msnavely@aea1.k12.ia.us
AEA 267 - Barb Schroeder bschroeder@aea267.k12.ia.us
AEA 8 - Linda Linn llinn@aea8.k12.ia.us
AEA 9 - Denise Tatoian, dtatoian@aea9.k12.ia.us
AEA 10 - Susie Green sgreen@aea10.k12.ia.us
AEA 11 - Chris Jeffryes chris_jeffryes@aea11.k12.ia.us
Northwest AEA - Shari Collins scollins@nwaea.org
Green Hills - Connie Richardson crichardson@ghaea.org
Great Prairie AEA - Shannon Johnson shannon.johnson@gpaea.k12.ia.us

 

Application

Student Application Materials for the 51st Annual USSYP

Schedule for selecting finalists and alternates for the USSYP 2013

52nd Annual USSYP Brochure

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on April 18, 2014 at 1:47am.