Skip to Content

U.S. Senate Youth Program

Contact(s)

On this page...

Iowa’s Delegates to the 2016 U.S. Senate Youth Program Announced

Two Iowa students were selected from across the state to participate in the 54th annual United States Senate Youth Program to be held March 5-12 in Washington, D.C.

Timothy Foley of Clive and Beau Ragland of Marshalltown were selected to be members of the 104-student delegation participating in Washington Week. In addition to the all-expenses-paid program week, each delegate receives a $5,000 undergraduate college scholarship.

Timothy, or T.J., Foley attends Valley High School and serves as the executive chair of the State of Iowa Youth Advisory Council and Junior Class Student Council representative. Beau Ragland is a senior at Marshalltown High School and is heavily involved in a number of leadership and academic activities.

Chosen as alternates to the 2016 program were John Lof, a resident of Grinnell, who attends Grinnell-Newburg High School, and Damon Wolter, a resident of Keokuk, who attends Keokuk High School.

The goals of the program include deepening the understanding of America’s political process and strengthening the students’ resolve to pursue careers in public service.

About the Program

U.S. Senate Youth Program logo and link to websiteThe state of Iowa has accepted an invitation to participate in the U.S. Senate Youth Program (USSYP), sponsored by the William Randolph Hearst Foundation. The program is designed to give young Americans a working knowledge of American political life.

Each year two Iowa students have the opportunity to spend a week in Washington, D.C. The William Randolph Hearst Foundation pays all expenses. In addition, the two Iowa high school representatives each receive a $5,000 scholarship.

Selection of the two Iowa high school representatives is based on the outstanding ability and demonstrated leadership qualities of elected junior and senior high school officers.

Each high school may nominate up to three students. Completed applications should be submitted to the appropriate AEA USSYP contact below. Check the the timeline within the Application Materials section below for specific due dates. Nominees take a qualifying examination (specific dates determined by each AEA) on the U.S. Constitution and government. The award recipients are announced in December.

For general program information, visit the www.ussenateyouth.org.

AEA USSYP Contacts

Keystone AEA 1 -  Katy Korbel  kkorbel@uni.edu
AEA 267 - Barb Schroeder bschroeder@aea267.k12.ia.us
Prairie Lakes AEA 8 - Linda Linn  llinn@plaea.org
Mississippi Bend AEA 9 - Denise Tatoian  dtatoian@aea9.k12.ia.us
Grant Wood AEA 10 - Susie Green sgreen@aea10.k12.ia.us
Heartland AEA 11 - Kelly Schloss kschloss@heartlandaea.org 
Northwest AEA - Shari Collins scollins@nwaea.org
Green Hills - Terri Bush tsbush@ghaea.org
Great Prairie AEA - Shannon Johnson shannon.johnson@gpaea.org

USSYP Application Materials

2016 USSYP Brochure

USSYP Student Application

USSYP Information and Timeline

 

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on July 27, 2016 at 5:39am.