Skip to Content

Iowa Reading Research Center (IRRC)

The Iowa Reading Research Center (IRRC) was established by Senate File 2284, the education package adopted by Iowa legislators in the 2012 session. The center’s purpose is to apply current research for the development of certain literacy efforts, including teaching strategies, interventions for struggling students, assessments, professional development strategies, and an intensive summer literacy program.



The IRRC Advisory has submitted the following reports:


IRRC Advisory

The Iowa Department of Education convened the IRRC Advisory to create a description and recommendations on functions and structures necessary to establish the Iowa Reading Research Center.


Chairperson: Sara McInerny, Interim Director of the Iowa Reading Research Center

  • Iowa Department of Education Representatives:
    • David Tilly, Deputy Director
    • Michelle Hosp, RtI State Transformation Team Representative
    • Barbara Ohlund, RtI State Transformation Team Representative
    • Rita Martens, Lead Consultant, Iowa Core
    • Deb Hindman, Literacy Consultant
    • Mike Cormack, Policy Liaison
    • Phil Wise, Policy Liaison
    • Sandy Nelson, Special Education Innovation and Improvement Consultant
    • Lea Davidson, Bureau Chief, Standards and Curriculum
  • IASCD Representatives:
    • Susan Pecinovsky
    • Lou Howell
    • Jason Ellingson
  • AEA Representatives:
    • Kris Donnelly, Programs and Services Administrator, AEA 10
    • Barb Shafer, Consultant, AEA 267
  • Regents Universities Representatives:
    • John Hosp, University of Iowa
    • Salli Forbes, University of Northern Iowa
    • Deborah Tidwell, University of Northern Iowa
    • Rick Traw, University of Northern Iowa
    • Ralph Reynolds, Iowa State University
  • Non-Regent IHE Representative:
    • Lindsay Grow, Grand View University
  • ISEA Representatives:
    • Mike Beranek
    • Tania Johnson
  • At-large reading experts from Iowa:
    • Wendy Robinson, Heartland AEA
    • Shari Kuehl, Davenport CSD
    • Charlie Bruner, Director, Iowa Child and Family Policy Center
    • Clark Goltz, Executive Director, Iowa Reading Association

Meeting Dates & Agendas

Meeting are held from 9 AM - 2:30 PM in B100 (located in the basement) of the Grimes State Office Building, 400 E 14th St, Des Moines, IA 50319



Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on April 17, 2014 at 5:20am.