Skip to Content

When is parental reimbursement to transport the parents' children an option?

Answer: 

A district may require parents/guardians to furnish transportation for their children who are entitled to transportation (and must provide reimbursement to the parent/guardian) in the following circumstances:

  1. Where transportation by school bus is impractical.
  2. Where necessary to implement a whole grade sharing agreement, or
  3. Where school bus service is not available.

Iowa Code -- 285.1(3).

This reimbursement is set by law at an annual amount of $80 plus 75% of the difference between $80 and the previous school year's statewide average per pupil transportation cost.

FAQ Category: 

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on April 21, 2014 at 11:08am.