What are the qualifications to be a school bus driver?
Qualifications include the following:
- The driver should be emotionally stable as determined by such factors as patience, considerateness, even temperament, and calmness under stress. 281 Iowa Administrative Code 43.13.
- The driver should be of good general character, as marked by such elements as reliability or dependability, ability to get along with others, restraint from undesirable language, personal cleanliness, honesty, and freedom from substance and alcohol abuse. 281 Iowa Administrative Code 43.12.
- There is no maximum age set by law. The minimum age is 18 years, because that is the minimum age for a person to obtain a commercial driver license (CDL) for intra-state operation (21 years of age for interstate operation). Iowa Code Ch. 321.375.