Skip to Content

Council on Educator Development


Established as part of House File 215, the Council on Educator Development will recommend a statewide teacher evaluation system, and a statewide administrator evaluation system.

The Council on Educator Development has created the following site to share resources, documents and thinking:

Meeting Dates, Agendas and Notes

September 3, 2015

June 10, 2015

May 15, 2015

April 10, 2015

March 13, 2015

February 13, 2015

January 16, 2015

December 19, 2014

November 7, 2014

September 17, 2014

May 27, 2014

April 15, 2014

February 13, 2014

January 9, 2014

November 26, 2013

October 4, 2013



  • Elaine Baughman, Special Education Teacher, Harlan Community School District, Harlan
  • Brad Buck, Superintendent, Cedar Rapids Community School District, Cedar Rapids
  • Tom Buckmiller, Professor, Drake University, Des Moines
  • Linda Carroll, Chief, Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines
  • J. D. Cryer, Field Experience Coordinator, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls
  • Carol Farver, Principal, Newton Community School District, Newton
  • David Fox, Principal, Waverly-Shellrock Community School District, Waverly
  • Roberta Hass, Teacher, MFL Mar Mac Community School District, Monona
  • Roark Horn, Executive Director, School Administrators of Iowa, Clive
  • Joel Illian, Deputy Director, Professional Educators of Iowa, Windsor Heights
  • Ron Jorgensen, State Representative, Sioux City*
  • Joe Judge, teacher, Albia Community School District
  • Michelle Lettington, Executive Director of Curriculum and Professional Learning, Waukee Community School District, Waukee
  • Josie Lewis, Policy/Legal Services Director, Iowa Association of School Boards, Des Moines
  • Patty Link, Parent Representative, Des Moines
  • Herman Quirmbach, State Senator, Ames*
  • Darren Reade, Teacher, Monticello Community School District, Monticello
  • Patti Roush, Principal, Denison Community School District
  • Derek Schulte, Teacher, Southeast Polk Community School District, Pleasant Hill
  • Jon Sheldahl, Chief Administrator, Great Prairie Area Education Agency, Ottumwa
  • Amy Sinclair, State Senator, Wayne
  • Bev Smith, Associate Superintendent for Human Resources and Equity, Waterloo
  • Dan Smith, Executive Director, School Administrators of Iowa, Clive
  • Billy Strickler, Elementary Teacher, Fairfield Community School District, Fairfield           
  • Joanne Tubbs, Licensure Consultant, Iowa Board of Educational Examiners, Des Moines
  • Dave Versteeg, Superintendent, Montezuma Community School District, Montezuma
  • Tammy Wawro, President, Iowa State Education Association, Des Moines
  • Cindy Winckler, State Representative, Davenport*

*Non-voting member

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on December 01, 2015 at 6:06am.