Skip to Content

Community Colleges

On this page...

Iowa's community colleges are governed by locally elected boards of directors that consist of from five to nine members who are elected for terms of four years. Each community college offers a comprehensive educational program. All Iowans of postsecondary school age are eligible to attend any of the community colleges. Community colleges also offer special programs for students who attend local secondary schools.

All community colleges comply with approval standards adopted by the State Board of Education. Additional information on individual community colleges may be obtained by communicating directly with the appropriate office in the college.

Iowa Community College Map

Iowa Community Colleges

The Directory of Iowa Community Colleges is published annually to provide a convenient source of contact information for administrative staff at Iowa's 15 community colleges.

2010-2011 Directory of Iowa Community Colleges
 

Community College

President/Chancellor

Northeast Iowa Community College Dr. Liang Chee Wee, President
weel@nicc.edu
North Iowa Area Community College Dr. Steven Schulz, President
schulste@niacc.edu

Iowa Lakes Community College
Ms. Valerie Newhouse, President
vnewhouse@iowalakes.edu
Northwest Iowa Community College Dr. Alethea Stubbe, President
aletheas@nwicc.edu
Iowa Central Community College Dr. Dan Kinney, President
kinney@iowacentral.edu
Iowa Valley Community College Dr. Christopher Duree, Chancellor
Christopher.Duree@iavalley.edu
Hawkeye Community College Dr. Linda Allen, President
Linda.Allen@hawkeyecollege.edu
Eastern Iowa Community College Dr. Don Doucette, Chancellor
ddoucette@eicc.edu
Kirkwood Community College Dr. Mick Starcevich, President
mick.starcevich@kirkwood.edu
Des Moines Area Community College Dr. Robert J. Denson, President
rjdenson@dmacc.edu
Western Iowa Tech Community College Dr. Terry Murrell, President
terry.murrell@witcc.edu
Iowa Western Community College Dr. Dan Kinney, President
dkinney@iwcc.edu
Southwestern Community College Dr. Barbara J. Crittenden, President
crittenden@swcciowa.edu
Indian Hills Community College Dr. Marlene Sprouse, President
marlene.sprouse@indianhills.edu
Southeastern Community College Dr.Michael Ash
mash@scciowa.edu

 

Areas of Instruction

Iowa's community colleges offer programs in three major areas of instruction - adult education, career programs of vocational and technical education and college parallel.

Through adult education, the community colleges provide part-time programs for adult students. These programs include: adult basic education programs for adults who have less than an eighth grade education; high school completion programs leading to adult high school diplomas and high school equivalency diploma; supplementary career programs of vocational and technical education for upgrading the skills of employed Iowans; and continuing education programs for adults who desire instruction to meet pre-occupational training needs, avocational and recreational interests, or other needs.

The preparatory career programs of vocational and technical education provide preparation for immediate employment in a wide variety of careers. Those training programs ordinarily require full-time instruction of four weeks to two years. Many of these programs are cooperative programs which provide classroom instruction in conjunction with paid employment experience related to the career preparation, and many are available on a part-time basis.

The college parallel program provides arts and sciences courses that may be transferred to other colleges and universities as the equivalent of the first two years of a four-year baccalaureate program. Included in college parallel are some programs that also provide preparation for entry level employment through career option programs.

 

Educational Programs and Opportunities

Many unique educational programs and opportunities are also offered by the community colleges. These include programs available in two-year institutions in adjacent states through tuition reciprocity agreements; programs for incarcerated individuals in correctional facilities; evaluation and assessment centers; developmental education programs and services for underprepared students; special programs for the disabled, including sheltered workshops; customized training programs for business and industry; incubation centers to assist the development of small businesses; and the administration of service delivery areas for the Federal Job Training Partnership Act (JTPA).

 

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on April 17, 2014 at 7:15pm.