Skip to Content

Commission on Educator Leadership and Compensation


The Commission on Educator Leadership and Compensation was created as part of House File 215 to play a key role in implementing the statewide Teacher Leadership and Compensation System. School districts that pursue state funding for a local teacher leadership system will submit plans to the commission, and commission members will evaluate plans and make recommendations on approval to the Iowa Department of Education.

Meeting Dates, Agendas and Notes

August 14, 2013

September 24, 2013

November 12, 2013

January 21, 2014

February 18, 2014

February 25, 2014

April 22, 2014

June 17, 2014



Lead: Ryan Wise

  • Jeff Anderson, Iowa Association of School Boards President-Elect, Boone
  • Mike Beranek, Teacher, West Des Moines
  • Molly Boyle, Teacher, Waukee
  • Mary Jane Cobb, Iowa State Education Association Executive Director, Des Moines
  • Tom Downs, Iowa Association of School Boards Executive Director, Des Moines
  • Kevin Ericson, Teacher, Nevada
  • Ray Feuss, Teacher, Cedar Rapids
  • Patti Fields, Iowa Association of School Boards President and School Board Member, Iowa City
  • Paul Gausman, Superintendent, Sioux City
  • Mary Jo Hainstock, Superintendent, Vinton-Shellsburg
  • Donna Lee Huston, Teacher, Twin Cedars
  • Todd Louwagie, Teacher, Algona
  • Diane Pratt, Teacher, Fort Dodge
  • Victoria Robinson, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls
  • Dan Smith, School Administrators of Iowa Executive Director, Clive
  • Brenda Garcia Van Auken, Parent, Muscatine
  • Georgia Van Gundy, Principal Financial Group, Des Moines
  • Paula Vincent, Heartland AEA Administrator, Johnston
  • Ryan Wise*, Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines
  • Dennis Wulf, Superintendent, Norwalk

*Non-voting member

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on April 18, 2014 at 10:55pm.