Skip to Content

Iowa Teacher of the Year nominations due April 28

Tuesday, April 4, 2017

There are literally thousands of talented Iowa educators who lead and inspire their students. But only one is chosen annually as the state’s top teacher. The deadline to nominate the 2018 Iowa Teacher of the Year is April 28.

The award is an opportunity to recognize an exceptional Iowa teacher who is helping to redefine education. Nominations will be accepted from anyone, including students, parents, school administrators, colleagues, college faculty members and associations.

Nomination forms can be found on the Iowa Teacher of the Year webpage.

The Iowa Teacher of the Year award was established in 1958. The annual program is sponsored by the Iowa Department of Education through an appropriation from the Iowa Legislature.

The Teacher of the Year serves as an ambassador to education and as a liaison to primary and secondary schools, higher education and organizations across the state.

Shelly Vroegh, fifth-grade teacher and instructional coach from the Norwalk Community School District, was named the 2017 Teacher of the Year.

The 2018 Teacher of the Year will be announced this fall.


Article Type: 

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on May 21, 2018 at 4:23am.