Skip to Content

Public input sought on Every Student Succeeds Act

Tuesday, September 20, 2016

Iowa Department of Education leaders will hit the road this fall as part of a statewide tour to gather public input as they develop a plan to meet the federal Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA).

ESSA, which replaces the No Child Left Behind Act of 2001 and will be fully implemented starting in the 2017-18 school year, provides a more reasonable balance between the role of states and the federal government in accountability for the success of all children. Under the reauthorized law, the federal government sets expectations, and states determine how schools will reach them.

Nine public input meetings will be held across Iowa from September through November. Each meeting will open with an overview of ESSA and the Department’s goals for developing the state plan.

“We all have a stake in the success of our students and schools, and engaging Iowans will be key to successful implementation of ESSA,” Iowa Department of Education Director Ryan Wise said. “Our goal is to build a system of accountability and support that drives student achievement and makes sense for Iowa. These public input meetings are one important way the Department is listening to what Iowans think student success should look like.”

The Department is also engaging education stakeholders in following ways:

  • Facilitating a state advisory committee representing the K-12 education system and parents. The ESSA Advisory Committee will provide input on pieces of Iowa’s ESSA plan.
  • Consulting representatives of education associations, state legislators, the higher education community, other state agencies and the business community.
  • Incorporating stakeholders’ voices into Department-led work teams that are drafting components of the state plan.

State plans must address academic standards, assessments, school and district accountability, and special help for struggling schools. Iowa’s state plan will be submitted to the U.S. Department of Education no later than July 2017.

All public input meetings will be held from 5 to 7 p.m. Meeting dates and locations are as follows:

Monday, September 26

Meeting location:
Heartland Area Education Agency
Room 107 A/B
6500 Corporate Drive, Johnston

Tuesday, September 27

Meeting location:
Green Hills Area Education Agency
Halverson Center for Education
24997 Highway 92, Council Bluffs

Tuesday, October 11

Meeting location:
Keystone Area Education Agency
Rooms D2-D3
1400 2nd Street NW, Elkader

Satellite sites:
Keystone Area Education Agency (Dubuque office)
2310 Chaney Road, Dubuque

Keystone Area Education Agency (Decorah office)
700 Ridgewood Drive, Decorah

Thursday, October 20

Meeting location:
Northwest Area Education Agency
1520 Morningside Avenue, Sioux City

Tuesday, October 25

Meeting location:
Mississippi Bend Area Education Agency
Muscatine/Scott Rooms
729 21st Street, Bettendorf

Wednesday, October 26

Meeting location:
Prairie Lakes Area Education Agency
Rooms A, B and C
824 Flindt Drive, Suite 105, Storm Lake

Wednesday, November 2

Meeting location:
Grant Wood Area Education Agency
Winter/Spring/Autumn/Revere/Stone conference rooms
4401 6th Street SW, Cedar Rapids

Monday, November 7

Meeting location:
Great Prairie Area Education Agency (Ottumwa office)
2814 N. Court Street, Ottumwa

Satellite site:
Great Prairie Area Education Agency (Burlington office)
3601 West Avenue, Burlington

Wednesday, November 9

Meeting location:
Area Education Agency 267
Rooms B/C
3712 Cedar Heights Drive, Cedar Falls

Satellite sites:
Area Education Agency 267 (Clear Lake)
Room A
9184 265th Street (Mason City Airport Grounds), Clear Lake

Area Education Agency 267 (Marshalltown)
Room G
909 South 12th Street, Marshalltown

For more information on Iowa’s plans to meet the Every Student Succeeds Act, visit

Iowans also can submit questions and feedback by sending an email to

Article Type: 

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on April 26, 2018 at 5:50pm.