Skip to Content

126 school districts chosen for teacher leadership system


Friday, December 19, 2014
Note: This press release was updated 12/21/14 to reflect an updated number of school districts chosen to participate. Valley School District, which was selected in collaboration with North Fayette, was added to the list. In addition, Edgewood-Colesburg was moved from the 2016-17 list to the 2015-16 list.

Iowa Department of Education Director Brad Buck today announced the next group of school districts chosen to launch local teacher leadership plans through Iowa’s new Teacher Leadership and Compensation System.

This effort to tap into the expertise of top teachers to improve classroom instruction and raise student achievement is the centerpiece of the state’s landmark education reform package passed by the Legislature in 2013. The system paves the way for more support and greater collaboration for all teachers to learn from each other instead of operating largely in isolation within their classrooms.  

“Students face higher expectations today, and we must support the complex work of teaching in order to improve the instruction students receive,” Buck said. “It’s very encouraging that so many education leaders in Iowa share this commitment and want to participate in this transformational teacher leadership effort, which is the most comprehensive in the nation.”

Buck said 170 school districts from across the state applied to join the teacher leadership system in the second round.

Of those, 126 school districts were chosen to put in place local plans – 76 of them during the 2015-16 school year and another 50 during the 2016-17 school year. The school districts serve a mix of urban, suburban and rural communities.

The 126 selected districts join 39 other districts that were chosen to implement the first teacher leadership systems this fall. The goal is to have all Iowa school districts participate in the optional system by 2016-17, Buck said.

School districts were chosen based on recommendations of the Commission on Educator Leadership and Compensation, which evaluates the applications.

Teacher leadership plans promise to help students learn more by better meeting their individual needs. They also will attract and retain more effective teachers by enhancing career opportunities and paying stipends for taking on extra responsibilities.

“The more I visit schools that are implementing teacher leadership plans, the more convinced I am that this system will improve learning and achievement for all students,” Buck said.

Districts that apply to start teacher leadership systems are required to set a vision and goals for what they plan to accomplish. They also must address “must-haves,” such as setting a minimum teacher salary of $33,500, improving entry into the profession through efforts that include mentoring new teachers, and a rigorous selection process for leadership roles.

The teacher leadership system will cost nearly $50 million in fiscal year 2015. That amount is expected to grow to about $150 million annually by fiscal year 2017.

The selected districts are:


  • Albia
  • Alden (in collaboration with Iowa Falls)
  • Ames
  • Andrew
  • Ankeny
  • Atlantic
  • Audubon
  • Baxter
  • Boone
  • CAL
  • Cardinal
  • Carlisle
  • Carroll
  • Center Point-Urbana
  • Central Decatur
  • Central DeWitt (Clinton)
  • Central Lyon
  • Chariton
  • Clay Central-Everly
  • Clear Creek-Amana
  • Clinton
  • College
  • Collins-Maxwell
  • Dallas Center-Grimes
  • Davis County
  • Decorah
  • Des Moines
  • Eastern Allamakee
  • Edgewood-Colesburg
  • Emmetsburg
  • Fairfield
  • Fort Dodge
  • Glenwood
  • Hampton-Dumont
  • Hinton
  • Indianola
  • Iowa City
  • Iowa Falls (in collaboration with Alden)
  • Iowa Valley
  • Lewis Central
  • Maquoketa Valley
  • MFL MarMac
  • MOC-Floyd Valley
  • Monticello
  • Nevada
  • New London
  • Nodaway Valley
  • North Cedar
  • North Fayette (in collaboration with Valley)
  • North Linn
  • North Scott
  • Northeast
  • Okoboji
  • Oskaloosa
  • Pleasant Valley
  • Red Oak
  • Solon
  • Spencer
  • Springville
  • Stratford
  • Tri-County
  • Union
  • United
  • Urbandale
  • Valley (in collaboration with North Fayette)
  • Vinton-Shellsburg
  • Wapello
  • Waukee
  • Waverly-Shell Rock
  • Wayne
  • West Branch
  • West Delaware County
  • West Monona
  • Williamsburg
  • Wilton
  • Winfield-Mt. Union


  • Adair-Casey (in collaboration with Guthrie Center)
  • Adel-DeSoto-Minburn
  • Alburnett
  • Aplington-Parkersburg
  • Bennett
  • CAM
  • Camanche
  • Cedar Falls
  • Centerville
  • Central City
  • Charter Oak-Ute (in collaboration with Maple Valley-Anthon Oto and Schleswig)
  • Clarke
  • Clayton Ridge
  • Danville
  • Denver
  • Durant
  • East Sac County
  • George-Little Rock
  • Grinnell-Newburg
  • Guthrie Center (in collaboration with Adair-Casey)
  • Highland
  • Independence
  • Keota
  • Knoxville
  • Lawton-Bronson
  • Lenox
  • Lisbon
  • Lone Tree
  • Maple Valley-Anthon Oto (in collaboration with Charter Oak-Ute and Schleswig)
  • Marion
  • Mason City
  • Midland
  • Mid-Prairie
  • Moravia (in collaboration with Seymour)
  • North Mahaska
  • Ogden
  • Pekin
  • Rudd-Rockford-Marble Rock
  • Schleswig (in collaboration with Charter Oak-Ute and Maple Valley-Anthon Oto)
  • Seymour (in collaboration with Moravia)
  • Sheldon
  • Sumner-Fredericksburg
  • Tipton
  • Tripoli
  • Van Buren
  • Wapsie Valley
  • Washington
  • West Hancock
  • West Liberty
  • West Lyon


Article Type: 

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on November 21, 2017 at 1:28pm.