Skip to Content

Advisory: Director Glass announces Competency-Based Instruction Task Force


Friday, July 27, 2012

Iowa Department of Education Director Jason Glass today announced the 35 Iowans who will serve on the Competency-Based Instruction Task Force, which was established in Senate File 2284 to study competency-based instruction standards and the integration of competency-based instruction with the Iowa Core, as well as to develop assessment models and professional development for educators.

Under a competency-based education system, students earn credit and advance to the next level based on their mastery of content rather than their age or seat time.

“Great schools always work to grow, improve and innovate,” said Glass, who is a member of the task force. “Some Iowa schools are very innovative already, and I applaud those schools that have experimented with competency-based education. I look forward to working with this talented group of Iowans on the task force to help fuel that innovative spirit.”

The task force will meet on Monday, July 30, from 9:30 a.m. to 3 p.m. at the School Administrators of Iowa office, 12199 Stratford Dr., Clive.

Members of the Competency-Based Instruction Task Force are as follows:

Todd Abrahamson, Grinnell-Newburg Community School District, Grinnell
Linda Allen, Hawkeye Community College, Waterloo
Connie Buhr, Hawkeye Community College, Waterloo
Charity Campbell, Norwalk Community School District, Norwalk
John Carver, Howard-Winneshiek Community School District, Cresco
Chris Coffman, Grinnell-Newburg Community School District, Grinnell
Shawn Cornally, Solon Community School District, Solon
Joan Corbin, Pella Community School District, Pella
Lyn Countryman, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls
Sandra Dop, Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines
Jason Ellingson, Collins-Maxwell Community School District, Maxwell
Ron Fielder, University of Iowa, Iowa City
Jason Glass, Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines
Dirk Halupnik, Linn-Mar Community School District, Marion
Jeff Herzberg, Prairie Lakes Area Education Agency, Pocahontas
Liz Hollingworth, University of Iowa, Iowa City
Pam Kirsch, Davenport Community Schools, Davenport
Valorie Kruse, State Board of Education, Sioux City
Susan Lagos-Lavenz, University of Iowa, Iowa City
Gary McClanahan, Des Moines Public Schools, Des Moines
Cathy Molumby, Valley Community School District, Elgin
Nancy Movall, AEA PD Online, Johnston
Allan Nelson, Clayton Ridge Community School District, Guttenberg
Dana Schon, School Administrators of Iowa, Clive
Jen Sigrist, Van Meter Community School District, Van Meter
Elliott G. Smith, Iowa Business Council, Des Moines
Andrea Stewart, Muscatine Community School District, Muscatine
Deanna Stoube, St. Ambrose University, Davenport
Cindy Swanson, Iowa State Education Association, Des Moines
David Tilly, Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines
Matt Townsley, Solon Community School District, Solon
Bridgette Wagoner, Waverly-Shell Rock Community School District, Waverly
Susan Walkup, Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines
Kari Webb, Spirit Lake Community School District, Spirit Lake
Todd Wessels, Holy Family Catholic Schools, Dubuque

Monday’s agenda is as follows:

9:30 a.m.         Welcome, Introductions, Connecting to the Work

10:45 a.m.       Overview of Legislation and State Guidelines and Definitions

11:30 a.m.       Brainstorm Work Process and Questions

12:15 p.m.       New Hampshire Competency-Based Learning and Assessment Specialist

1:15 p.m.         Define Work Teams and Job Descriptions

2:15 p.m.         Timeline

2:30 p.m.         Next Steps

3 p.m.              Adjourn

Article Type: 

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on January 20, 2018 at 6:32am.