Skip to Content

Director Buck announces members of new Assessment Task Force


Wednesday, October 23, 2013

Iowa Department of Education Director Brad Buck announced the 19 Iowans who will serve on a task force that will study the state’s assessment needs and will recommend a new state test for public and accredited nonpublic schools.

The Assessment Task Force was established as part of House File 215, the landmark education reform bill adopted by Iowa lawmakers. Recommendations are expected by January 1, 2015.

“This task force is a critical part of our state’s work to improve our state assessment system,” Buck said. “Our students and schools deserve a high-quality state assessment that is aligned to our statewide standards. This is an essential piece of a great education system that prepares students for success in college and career training.”

During the 2012 legislative session, the Legislature mandated the Iowa Assessments for state and federal accountability purposes. During the 2013 legislative session, the Legislature opened the door for a successor assessment administered by Iowa Testing Programs to be allowed for accountability purposes.

The State Board of Education was directed to create administrative rules that specify for implementation by the 2016-17 school year a new statewide assessment of student progress in grades 3-11. That new assessment must meet the following criteria:

  • Align with the Iowa Core
  • Accurately describe student achievement and growth for the purposes of accountability
  • Provide valid, reliable, and fair measures of student progress toward college or career readiness
  • Must have been piloted in Iowa schools

The Assessment Task Force represents a cross-section of education stakeholders, including teachers, school administrators, representatives of state and regional agencies and associations, and parents and business leaders.

The task force will meet for the first time on Tuesday, Oct. 29. The meeting will be held from 10 a.m. to 3 p.m. in Room B100 of the Grimes State Office Building. Meetings are open to the public.

Members of the Assessment Task Force are as follows:

  • Ruth Allison, Administrative Consultant, Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation Services, Des Moines
  • Catherine Blando, Educator, Iowa City
  • Shelly Bosovich, Executive Director, Des Moines Public Schools, Des Moines
  • Kathy Brenny, Consultant, Prairie Lakes Area Education Agency, Storm Lake
  • Martha Bruckner, Superintendent, Council Bluffs Community School District, Council Bluffs
  • Lowell Ernst, Director of K-12 Instruction, Pella Community School District, Pella
  • Diana Gonzalez, Chief Academic Officer, Board of Regents, Urbandale
  • Harry Heiligenthal, Leadership Development Director, Iowa Association of School Boards, Des Moines
  • Tina Hoffman, Regional Administrator, Grant Wood Area Education Agency, Cedar Rapids
  • Mark Lane, Principal, Jensen Elementary, Urbandale
  • Jo Ellen Latham, Director of Curriculum and Instruction, Southeast Polk Community School District, Pleasant Hill
  • Jane Lindaman, Associate Superintendent for Educational Services, Waterloo Community School District, Waterloo
  • Jon McKenzie, Director of Assessment  & Comprehensive Improvement, Area Education Agency 267, Cedar Falls
  • Angela Olson, Associate Principal, Xavier High School, Cedar Rapids
  • Elliott Smith, Executive Director, Iowa Business Council, Des Moines
  • David Tilly, Deputy Director, Iowa Department of Education, Des Moines
  • Tammy Wawro, President, Iowa State Education Association, Des Moines
  • Melanie Wirtz, Teacher, Union High School, La Porte City
  • Karen Woltman, Parent, Swisher

For more information on state commissions and task forces established as part of 2013 legislation, visit the Iowa Department of Education’s Boards, Commissions, Committees, Councils and Task Forces webpage.

Article Type: 

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on December 15, 2017 at 2:22am.