Skip to Content

Iowa teachers named state finalists for nation’s highest honor in math, science teaching


Thursday, October 10, 2013

Five Iowa teachers have been named state finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

The finalists in math are Allysen Lovstuen of Decorah High School, Brian Reece of Central Academy in Des Moines, and Jeff Marks of Roosevelt High School in Des Moines. The finalists in science are Marcia Powell of West Delaware High School in Manchester and Shannon McLaughlin of Norwalk High School.

The Iowa finalists’ applications have been submitted to the national selection committee. One math and one science award-winner may be selected to represent Iowa. Award-winners receive $10,000 and a trip to Washington, D.C., where they will participate in an award ceremony and receptions, professional development programs and discussions with policy-makers on how to improve math and science education.

“The work of math and science teachers is especially critical as we work to grow Iowa’s commitment to bolster science, technology, engineering, and mathematics education,” said Brad Buck, director of the Iowa Department of Education. “These talented teachers will help lead Iowa to a strong future in STEM.”

Allysen Lovstuen, the math teacher from Decorah High School, said her classroom techniques empower students to arrive at answers themselves, which bolsters confidence.

“I love letting the students see the power of math as a tool and the creativity and beauty of math that most people who never go on into math don't ever see,” said Lovstuen, of Waukon.

The Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching are the nation’s highest honors specifically for kindergarten through 12th grade teachers of math and science.

More than 4,200 teachers have been recognized since Congress established the program in 1983. The National Science Foundation administers the awards on behalf of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy.

Awards are given to math and science teachers from each of the 50 states and four U.S. jurisdictions. The program recognizes those teachers who develop and implement a high-quality instructional program that is informed by content knowledge and enhances student learning. Awards alternate annually between elementary and secondary teachers.  

Iowa’s finalists were chosen by a panel of science and math educators from across the state.

Read more about each finalist.


Mathematics Finalists

Allysen Lovstuen, Decorah High School


Brian Reece, Central Academy in Des Moines


Jeff Marks, Roosevelt High School in Des Moines


Science Finalists

Shannon McLaughlin, Norwalk High School


Marcia Powell, West Delaware High School in Manchester


Article Type: 

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on January 23, 2018 at 1:40am.