Skip to Content

Early literacy and RtI

Monday, September 9, 2013

Some 600 educators representing a partnership of the Iowa Department of Education, Area Education Agencies and school districts across the state have kicked off a statewide effort to implement Response to Intervention and help students read proficiently by the end of third grade.

Teachers and school administrators who will be rolling out Response to Intervention, known as RtI, in their schools this fall are among those who are learning how to effectively implement the practice.

RtI is a proven practice to help schools identify, and intervene with, struggling readers early on. This is accomplished by adapting instruction to fit those students’ individual needs and then monitoring their progress.

About 10 percent of the state’s schools will roll out RtI this fall. Iowa’s education system is working together to put in place RtI statewide through Collaborating for Iowa’s Kids, a partnership among Iowa’s AEAs, school districts and the Iowa Department of Education.

Iowa Department of Education Director Brad Buck welcomed participants to the workshop.

“What would it mean for Iowa if every child finishing third grade could read at or above the third-grade level?” asked Brad Buck, director of the Iowa Department of Education.

“We’re at a pivotal time,” he said. “We agree we must dramatically improve. I say that Iowa’s education is good as it ever has been – it’s just that other states have passed us on some academic measures.”

Through the week-long workshop, participants will learn three key elements to RtI: assessments for preschoolers (to ensure that students are ready to learn when they start kindergarten), kindergarten through sixth grade assessment (incorporating universal assessment and progress monitoring), and data-based decision-making. Remote training and coaching continues among all partners on a monthly basis thereafter.

Participant Amanda Trei, a teacher from Rock Valley Elementary in the northwest Iowa community of Rock Valley, was eager to learn.

“I am hoping to get a system where we are all on the same page in which the assessment helps students and teachers to ensure the students are progressing,” she said.

“Right now, it is all scattered and not consistent from student to student,” she said. “We don’t collect data regularly so we don’t know if what we’re doing is truly making a difference.”

Learn more about RtI.

Participating schools are:

Keystone AEA
Central Elkader Central Elkader Elementary
Edgewood-Colesburg Edgewood-Colesburg Elementary
Seton Catholic Seton Catholic Elementary - Peosta
Valley Valley Elementary

Prairie Lakes AEA
Clay Central-Everly Clay Central-Everly Elementary - Royal
East Sac County East Sac County elementaries - Sac City & Wall Lake
Emmetsburg West Elementary
Sacred Heart School Sacred Heart
Spirit Lake Spirit Lake Elementary

Mississippi Bend AEA
Central Clinton Central Intermediate
Central Clinton Ekstrand Elementary
Delwood Delwood Elementary
John F Kennedy Catholic School John F Kennedy Catholic
Northeast Northeast Elementary
Pleasant Valley Hopewell Elementary

Grant Wood AEA
Center Point-Urbana Center Point-Urbana Intermediate
Center Point-Urbana Center Point-Urbana Primary
Clear Creek Amana Amana Elementary
Clear Creek Amana Clear Creek Elementary
Clear Creek Amana North Bend Elementary
College Community Prairie Heights Elementary
College Community Prairie Ridge Elementary
Monticello Carpenter Elementary
Monticello Shannon Elementary
West Branch Hoover Elementary

Heartland AEA
Carroll Fairview Elementary
Collins-Maxwell Collins-Maxwell Elementary
Colo-NESCO School Colo-Nesco Elementary Learning Center
Coon Rapids-Bayard CR-B Elementary
Madrid Madrid Elementary
Ogden Howe Elementary
Perry Perry Elementary
Roland-Story Roland-Story Elementary
Van Meter Van Meter Elementary
West Des Moines Hillside Elementary

Northwest AEA
Denison Broadway Elementary
Denison Denison Elementary
Hinton Hinton Elementary
Rock Valley Elementary
Schleswig Schleswig Elementary
Sioux City Bryant Elementary
Sioux City Clark Elementary
Sioux City Crescent Park Elementary
Sioux City Emerson Elementary
Sioux City Hunt Elementary
Sioux City Irving Elementary
Sioux City Leeds Elementary
Sioux City Liberty Elementary
Sioux City Lincoln Elementary
Sioux City Nodland Elementary
Sioux City Riverside Elementary
Sioux City Roosevelt Elementary
Sioux City Spalding Park Elementary
Sioux City Sunnyside Elementary
Sioux City Unity Elementary
Sioux City Washington Elementary
Sioux City Whittier Elementary

Green Hills AEA
A-H-S-T A-H-S-T Elementary
Atlantic Washington Elementary
Corning Corning Elementary
East Union East Union Elementary
Griswold Elliott Elementary
Griswold Lewis Elementary
IKM-Manning Irwin Elementary
IKM-Manning Manning Elementary
Lewis Central E A Kreft Primary
Sidney Sidney Elementary
Villisca Sylvia Enarson Elementary

Great Prairie AEA
Burlington Black Hawk Elementary
Burlington Sunnyside Elementary
Centerville Lakeview Elementary
Fort Madison Lincoln Elementary
Fort Madison Richardson Elementary
West Burlington Independent West Burlington Elementary

AEA 267
BCLUW BCLUW Elementary
Cedar Falls Cedar Heights Elementary
East Marshall East Marshall Community Preschool
East Marshall East Marshall Elementary
Hampton-Dumont South Side Elementary
Hubbard-Radcliffe Hubbard-Radcliffe Elementary
Mason City Harding Elementary
Mason City Lincoln Intermediate
Mason City Roosevelt Elementary
St. Edward St. Edward School

Printed from the Iowa Department of Education website on February 17, 2018 at 9:23pm.