What fees may be charged by a district?
By statute, there are 7 fees that may be charged by a district. They are:
- Textbook fees (Iowa Code section 301.1). Textbook is defined as "books and loose-leaf or bound manuals... which convey information to the student... including but not limited to computer software, applications, using computer-assisted instruction, interactive videodisks, and other computer courseware and magnetic media."
- Eye protective devices (Iowa Code section 280.10);
- Ear protective devices (Iowa Code section 280.11);
- Driver education courses (Iowa Code section 282.6);
- Summer school courses (Iowa Code section 282.6);
- Transportation provided to resident students who are not entitled to free transportation (Iowa Code section 285.1). Transportation is free to elementary students who live more than 2 miles and to high school students who live more than 3 miles from their designated attendance centers.
- School supplies (Iowa Code section 301.1). These are items used individually by students as opposed to items used in common by all students. E.g., art supplies for art class and chemicals for science class are supplies for which a district may NOT charge a fee because they are used in common by all students.